What are Visa Reciprocity Fees?

Visa reciprocity fees are visa fees charged by one country as a counter to fees charged by another.

photo from point of view of person looking at their legs with lugging at their feet

Your ticket to Going

Meet the travel membership saving you hundreds of dollars on flights. We’ve helped millions travel and experience the world without breaking the bank.

Additional requirements to get a visa may include fees or fingerprinting. There may also be limits placed on how long certain nationals can be in a country.

Country A and Country B may also reach an agreement to ease or waive visa requirements to one another’s citizens as a gesture of friendliness and trust. That’s also visa reciprocity, though the term is used much more frequently to describe the imposition (rather than the waiver) of visas or visa fees.

Which countries have visa reciprocity fees for US travelers?

The list of countries that charge visa fees to visiting US citizens occasionally changes, so even if you don’t see your destination on this list it’s a good idea to check with the latest requirements on the US State Department’s international travel section. Search for the name of the country and then expand the “Entry, Exit, and Visa Requirements” section for details and links to get whatever documents you might need.

The countries listed below all require US citizens to have a visa in order to travel there, though not all require that travelers get the visa beforehand. Some have e-visas you can get online within 24 hours of departing for your trip, some have visas you get (paying in cash) upon arrival, and others have a complicated paperwork process you’ll want to start well in advance.

  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Australia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Belarus
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Chad
  • China
  • Congo
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Cuba
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Republic of Guinea
  • India
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Jordan
  • North Korea
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar (Burma)
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Sierra Leone
  • South Sudan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Syria
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uganda
  • Uzbekistan
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
  • Zimbabwe
Join Going and get cheap flights and travel tips delivered right to your inbox.

Last updated Jan 10, 2024